DBN Gogo. Picture: Instagram
DBN Gogo. Picture: Instagram

Inaugural South African Amapiano Music Awards announces nominees

By Alyssia Birjalal Time of article published Jul 20, 2021

Share this article:

Amapiano artists in the country are being recognised with an award show that focuses on them and their sound.

The announcement of the the first South African Amapiano Music Awards was made on Twitter to highlight notable achievers within a genre that’s taking the world by storm.

In a statement on their website, the governing body said it felt the genre wasn’t getting sufficient recognition for its efforts.

They said: “For its first instalment the governing body considered artists’ contributions to the genre and musical projects that were released from January 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021.”

The awards will be an annual event.

The categories include Friends Of Amapiano, which recognises artists who are not necessarily classified as amapiano acts but have made notable contributions to the genre; and Best Amapiano Street Dancer, a category that awards dancers who propel both the music and Yanos culture through their distinctive street dance moves.

Winners will receive R10 000, with the exception of the Amapiano Song of the Year winner who will be awarded R50 000.

Some of the nominees in the Friends Of Amapiano category include, Cassper Nyovest, Vetkuk vs Mahoota, Riky Rick, Oskido and Mi Casa while songs like “John Vuligate”, “Catalia”, “Khuza Gogo”, “Vula Mlomo” and “Dakiwe” were nominated in the category Most Viral Amapiano Song of the Year.

In the Amapiano Song of the Year category are “Ke Star” – Focalistic feat. Vigro Deep; “Umsebenzi Wethu” – Busta 929 & Mpura feat. Zuma, Mr JazziQ, Lady Du & Reece Madlisa; “Khuza Gogo” – Dbn Gogo, Blaqnick and MasterBlaq feat. Mpura, Ama Avenger and MJ; “Amanikiniki” – MFR Souls feat. Major League DJz, Kamo Mphela and Bontle Smith; “Uthando” - Soa Mattrix and Soulful G feat. Shaun 101; “Emathandweni” - Zandimaz feat. Nokwazi; “Idlozi Lam” – DJ Obza feat. Nkosazana and DJ Freetz; “John Wick” – De Mthuda feat. Sir Trill and Da Muziqal Chef; “Vula Mlomo” – Musa Keys feat. Sir Trill and Nobantu Vilakazi and “Dinaledi” – Major League DJz feat. Abidoza and Mpho Sebina.

Share this article: